Vmware Host Only and Nat

Support section for FREESCO v0.4.x

Vmware Host Only and Nat

Postby OlivierC » Sat Dec 24, 2011 2:43 am

Hello,

I am currently building my VMware Lab and would like to simulate as much as possible a real environment in Windows 2008 R2.
Yes, I want to pass my certifications mid january:-)

But, I have a problem!

I want an environment like this one

Internet
|
|
NAT Interface (192.169.147.x)
|
|
Site 1 (192.168.231.X - Host Only) Windows 2008 R2 DC ------ Site 2 (192.168.209.x - Host Only) Windows 2008 R2 - RODC

For the moment, my problem is that I can ping the computers from site 1 to site 2 but not the way around.
What I would also like to do is also enable users in site 2 to be able to surf the net in case of site 1 failure.

I did try with the E and F config but no success.

Help would be much appreciate :-)

And ohh... Merry Christmas!!

EDIT: Did forget to mention: FreeSco only see 2 adapters

EDIT 2: Got it sorted but a lot of time out :-( Don't know why). I am using the v 0.3.3
OlivierC
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 3:19 pm

Re: Vmware Host Only and Nat

Postby Zedde » Mon Dec 26, 2011 3:59 am

Did you get to work ?

Sent from my HTC Desire HD A9191 using Tapatalk
"From now until the end of the world,
we and it shall be remembered.
We few, we Band of Brothers.
For he who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother."
User avatar
Zedde
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Vmware Host Only and Nat

Postby OlivierC » Mon Dec 26, 2011 4:47 am

Yep,

Problem came from the OVA I downloaded from some site.
But, I would like to make a 0.4.3 flp but I only have x64 OS here.

Can someone point me or send me a already flp made?

Anywa, best router ever!
OlivierC
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 3:19 pm

Re: Vmware Host Only and Nat

Postby Zedde » Mon Dec 26, 2011 5:23 am

You can mount the image file in ESXi
"From now until the end of the world,
we and it shall be remembered.
We few, we Band of Brothers.
For he who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother."
User avatar
Zedde
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Vmware Host Only and Nat

Postby OlivierC » Mon Dec 26, 2011 6:32 am

That's not the problem :-)
Just that it doesn't see the 3rd nic :-)

Have to make an FLP. But first I have to find an XP.

So if someone could provide me the 0.4.3 FLP, it would be nice ;-)
OlivierC
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 3:19 pm

Re: Vmware Host Only and Nat

Postby Zedde » Mon Dec 26, 2011 7:17 am

I'm running my Freesco router (v0.4.1 ) as VM in ESXi

I have 3 nics connected.


do you use ESXi / player/Workstation ?
Last edited by Zedde on Mon Dec 26, 2011 7:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
"From now until the end of the world,
we and it shall be remembered.
We few, we Band of Brothers.
For he who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother."
User avatar
Zedde
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Vmware Host Only and Nat

Postby Zedde » Mon Dec 26, 2011 7:20 am

Have you changed the Internal security under adv settings ?
"From now until the end of the world,
we and it shall be remembered.
We few, we Band of Brothers.
For he who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother."
User avatar
Zedde
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Vmware Host Only and Nat

Postby OlivierC » Mon Dec 26, 2011 7:43 am

Zedde,

Everything is ok for V0.3.3 via a FLP.
But I tole somewhere an OVA that doesn't work.

And because I only have x64 OS, I cannot do an FLP here at home :-)

I am currently using VMware WKS 8 :-)
OlivierC
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 3:19 pm

Re: Vmware Host Only and Nat

Postby Zedde » Mon Dec 26, 2011 12:19 pm

Yet again, why do you need a floppy ?
Are you going to run from a floppy on stand alone machine ?

You can mount the freesco.043 ( from the 0.4.3 zip file ) in vmware. rename it to .fd
I think you can install it on a USB device
"From now until the end of the world,
we and it shall be remembered.
We few, we Band of Brothers.
For he who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother."
User avatar
Zedde
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Vmware Host Only and Nat

Postby OlivierC » Mon Dec 26, 2011 1:00 pm

Ok, just rename th zip in fd or flp, mount it, boot on it ant insrall it on a hd?
That's it??
If yes, will try it later and let you know.

Thx mate!
OlivierC
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 3:19 pm

Re: Vmware Host Only and Nat

Postby Zedde » Mon Dec 26, 2011 1:07 pm

In the zip file there is a file called freesco.033 ( in your case)
Rename it

Sent from my GT-P7510 using Tapatalk
"From now until the end of the world,
we and it shall be remembered.
We few, we Band of Brothers.
For he who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother."
User avatar
Zedde
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Vmware Host Only and Nat

Postby OlivierC » Mon Dec 26, 2011 3:58 pm

OK, got this file too in 0.4.3 :-D

Nice!!!

Only probs, not recognizing my 2 other nics :-(

Got a red XXX near the Initializing interface eth01 and eth02

Snif

EDIT: Nevermind, eth01 and 02 should be eth1 and 2 :-) Now working great!!!

Case closed :-)
OlivierC
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 3:19 pm

Re: Vmware Host Only and Nat

Postby Zedde » Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:44 am

Cool
"From now until the end of the world,
we and it shall be remembered.
We few, we Band of Brothers.
For he who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother."
User avatar
Zedde
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Sweden


Return to FREESCO Support for v0.4.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lightning and 0 guests