Support for multiple wan connections

Remember this is a 1.44Mb floppy disk router, space is limited.

Postby Robbie523i » Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:10 am

Here is the thing:

I have got 1 ADSL line for private use and 1 ADSL line for business use.

I want to route traffic from and to my internal LAN to and from either ADSL modem based on ip addresses.

To my knowledge, freesco supports only 1 wan connection (with a default gateway) and multiple lan connections. Is it possible to support multiple wan connections (with default gateways)?

Greetz,

Rob
User avatar
Robbie523i
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:03 am

Postby bbj » Sun Jun 05, 2005 3:13 pm

Short answer is no, lon answer is yes.

You can only have one pppoe session, so for the second modem you'll have to get the modem to do its own thing ( establish the link and authenticate ). Then simply add static routes for the work's ip to route through the lan card that the second modem is connected to.

Unless...... is there a way to get a ppp1 for the second pppoe link.

BBJ
We are dyslexia of BORG, fusistance is retile, your ass will be laminated
User avatar
bbj
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2002 3:36 pm
Location: South Africa

Postby Robbie523i » Sun Jun 05, 2005 3:29 pm

Thanx for your reply BBJ,

The modem to work has a permanent connection and so does the modem to my isp.

So all I have to do is add static routes in Freesco? It's that simple is it?

Greetz,
Robbie523i
User avatar
Robbie523i
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:03 am

Postby Lightning » Sun Jun 05, 2005 7:44 pm

So all I have to do is add static routes in Freesco? It's that simple is it?

No it is NOT simple by anyones standards, and even when you are finished it will not really be a bonded connection. But rather the ability to route specific traffic through a specific external connection. Which will be all statically setup before hand ( although that was is what was asked for).
The other problems would be customizing the rc_net, rc_eth, and rc_masq files, so the short answer is usually the best choice.

As for an understanding of PPP connections, it is VERY easy to manually start another PPPoE or even a PPtP sesion which would use the next available PPP? interface. The problems come with everything past that.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 3052
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to FREESCO wish list

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests