Dial-in Setup Howto

If you need some help, this should be the first place to look.

Postby pirata » Mon Dec 01, 2003 10:04 pm

Dial-in Set-up How-to , Dialin Setup Howto , Dial in Set up How to

How To Setup Dial-In-Server or RAS to Freesco and Reach from Windows Client

Here's a little guide on how to make a dial-in connection to Freesco from a Windows machine. This guide is focused on the purpose of sharing an Internet connection where Freesco is the gateway (router) and Windows is the client. It doesn?t discuss null-modem connections nor file-sharing nor other clients than Windows.

Most of the facts are gathered from Lightning in his answers to different questions in the forums. Thanks. I hope the info here is correct, otherwise please correct me.

For the dial-up client setup, I only have access to Windows 98 in English and Windows 2000 in Spanish, so if someone wants to replace the Spanish bits in that part to English, please do.

Maybe after corrections are made, some moderator would be so kind to move this to the FAQ section. Oh, that would be great!

I?m rather new to Linux and Freesco myself. Even so, I managed to setup Freesco on a 486 as a router between an always-on Internet connection and a couple of Windows boxes. It came to good use as a print server, too. This was all easy thanks to the simplicity and good guides available. Thanks for that. A guide for dial-in seemed to be lacking, though, so I thought I?d put together my new-found insights on this matter, so here it goes.


Setting up dial-in in Freesco (version 032, won't work in 030-031):

Make sure you have a "hardware" modem, as opposed to a "winmodem".
Make sure it's connected and powered (and working...).
See below for more info on modems in Freesco.

From within a Telnet connection, log in as root.
At the [Linux] prompt, type setup [enter].
Type c or m or nothing [enter].
Type a for a) Advanced settings.
Type the corresponding numbers for the following actions:

32. Dial-in users
322. add user.
Don't use the web interface for this, it doesn't work very well.

71. Modem settings
710. Search and autoconfig modems
713. Init string: ATZ (Change only if necessary, see below for details)
714. Dial-in IP addr: Set to 192.168.y.x ,
where 192.168.y.0 is your local network (or one of them)
and x can be 1-254, but not Freesco IP nor DHCP pool
nor any other already used IP number.

23. Remote access
220. Rings before answer at login,nologin time. RINGS=1,10
etc.

25. Internal security
Trust local networks (y/s/n) [n]? Whatever suits your needs.
Trust modem links (y/n) [y]? Dial-in will work if you choose ?y?,
otherwise not, it seems.

Then type x to exit from Advanced setup.
Then type s for s) Save current config and exit.
Then type "reboot" at the [Linux] prompt.
That finishes the Freesco part.


Setting up dial-up client in Windows:

Copy freesco.scp from Freesco setup files to
D:\WINNT\System32\ras (Win2000) or
C:\Program Files\Accessories (Win98 English) or
C:\Program\Tillbeh?r (Win98 Swedish) or
C:\Programme\Zubeh?r (Win98 German) or
C:\Archivos de programa\Accesorios (Win98 Spanish) or
wherever your .scp-files are.

Setup dialup connection for Win98 (here in English):
Go to Dial-Up Networking.
Make New Connection and finish it with any values.
Open Properties of your new connection.

Tab: Server Types:
Choose Type...: PPP...
Uncheck the 4 first Advanced options.
Uncheck NetBEUI and IPX/SPX, check TCP/IP.
In TCP/IP settings, check both Server assigned...

Tab: Scripting:
Browse for freesco.scp as script.

Uncheck Start terminal window minimized for now,
until you know everything?s working.
Set all other options suitably.

Setup dialup connection for Win2000 (here in Spanish... sorry):
Go to ?Conexiones de red y de acceso telef?nico?.
?Realizar conexi?n nueva?.
Choose ?Acceso telefonico a Internet?.
Choose ?Deseo configurar manualmente...?.
Choose ?...linea telefonica y un modem?.
In ?Paso 1, Informacion?, click ?Avanzadas...?.
Choose PPP, and check ?Use archivos de comando...?
Browse for freesco.scp as script.
Finish the wizard with your chosen values.

Open Properties of your new connection for editing.
In tab ?Seguridad?, check ?Mostrar ventana de terminal? for now,
until you know everything?s working.

Final note: Don?t use software compression in the connection, as Windows and Freesco don?t speak the same language here.

Good Luck!

Pirata
--------------------------------

This is what netguru says about modems:

One way to do diagnostics on your modem is to use the built in command "minicom"
from the console after you login, type minicom /dev/cua0 [enter]
you will be connected to your modem, type AT [enter]
the modem should respond with OK
if not then you need to type the following AT command
ATE1V1 [enter]
(this sets the modem to echo command responses, and to do so verbosely)
the modem will respond with OK
next type AT&W [enter]
(this writes the current config to the modems NVRAM)
AT&F, loads the factory defaults settings to the modems active profile.
ATI followed by a number from 0 to 7 will give you important hardware and firmware info about your modem.
to exit minicom type ~. (tilde period)

--------------------------------

Koen Noens:

When using a modem, you'll need to know its 'init-string'. This is a string of modem commands that will be sent to the modem to 'initialise' it before it starts making its connection. Using the correct modem string improves performance. If you don't know the init-string of your modem, you need to try and find it. Meanwhile, you can try if ATZ, AT&F or AT&F1 will do the trick. These are 3 simple modem init strings that will almost always work, but do not guarantee top performance.

--------------------------------
Karl Nilsson<br><a href='http://www.pirata.com.ni' target='_blank'>http://www.pirata.com.ni</a><br><a href='http://www.heimskringla.com' target='_blank'>http://www.heimskringla.com</a><br><a href='http://www.colsueco.org' target='_blank'>http://www.colsueco.org</a>
User avatar
pirata
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 10:24 pm
Location: Managua, Nicaragua

Postby Lightning » Mon Dec 22, 2003 5:39 am

As I am moving this thread to the FAQ section I will take the time to make one point clear. The above tutorial is only aplicable to 030 031 and 032. When 033 is released it will no linger require the use of the freesco.scp file in any way, and using it will cause the connection not to work. Other than that the tutorial will still be valid.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 3052
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron