webalizer for freesco 0.3.2

3rd Party Package Requesting

Postby x20 » Sun Jun 13, 2004 4:59 am

would be nice..

<a href='http://www.mrunix.net/webalizer/' target='_blank'>http://www.mrunix.net/webalizer/</a>

:rolleyes:
User avatar
x20
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 4:04 am

Postby El Machete » Sun Jun 13, 2004 10:08 pm

It is nice:

<a href='http://elmachete.dyndns.org/usage/' target='_blank'>webalizer working on a freesco site</a>


Easy to installati too. Just follow the instructions for binary installation

<a href='ftp://ftp.mrunix.net/pub/webalizer/INSTALL' target='_blank'>Installation instructions</a>


After you untar the files and copy the binary to /bin then you can add the webalizer command to the cron process to run it on a regular basis ( I do it every 8 hours) to update the stats.

If you have any problems let us know.

Good luck
El Machete Main Site<br><a href='http://elmachete.dyndns.org' target='_blank'>http://elmachete.dyndns.org</a><br><br><b><i>Information wants to be free. Use open source</b></i><br><br>Other sites by El Machete:<br><br><a href='http://laoficina.mine.nu/' target='_blank'>El Machete Group Office</a><br>
User avatar
El Machete
Senior Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2002 3:05 am
Location: Alberta Canada

Postby x20 » Mon Jun 14, 2004 3:04 am

Hey.
I have download the file:
webalizer-2.01-10-linuxelf-x86-bin.tgz
With snarf and unpacked it with tar and i get the files.
Then i do this:
cp webalizer /bin
works great.
But when i get in to the bin catalog and trying to run webalizer it says:
webalizer: No such file or directory

:blink:
User avatar
x20
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 4:04 am

Postby dingetje » Mon Jun 14, 2004 3:22 am

<a href='http://dingetje.homeip.net/cgi/faq/smartfaq.cgi?answer=1050084353&id=1018442636' target='_blank'>http://dingetje.homeip.net/cgi/faq/smartfa...3&id=1018442636</a>

The binary you've downloaded is no doubt for a libc.so.6 linux system. You can verify with the 'ldd' command (not standard on FREESCO 03x, you'll need to install my utils_1.0 package first) what libs are required for a binary.

If you'd download the <a href='ftp://ftp.mrunix.net/pub/webalizer/webalizer-2.01-10-static.gz' target='_blank'>static linked binary</a> you should be OK on FREESCO, since that binary does not require external libs (all the code is linked into the slightly larger binary)

<a href='http://dingetje.homeip.net/webalizer/' target='_blank'>Here</a> is my webalizer page, but personally I think <a href='http://dingetje.homeip.net/awstats.html' target='_blank'>Awstats</a> does a better job in analyzing your web log file.
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby x20 » Mon Jun 14, 2004 3:28 am

Ok i downloaded that packet.
But when i do this:
tar -zxvf webalizer-2.01-10-static.gz
I get this:
tar: Hmm, this doesn't look like a tar archive

:crazy:
User avatar
x20
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 4:04 am

Postby dingetje » Mon Jun 14, 2004 3:32 am

I think I was editing my post at the same time you were replying, so please re-read. Not all is lost ;)
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby dingetje » Mon Jun 14, 2004 3:33 am

A .gz file is only archived with gzip, so unpack with 'gzip -d filename'
A .tgz is a gzipped tar file which can be unpacked in a number of ways, the easiest being 'tar -zxvf filename'
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby x20 » Mon Jun 14, 2004 3:36 am

Ok i got i now.
Im running the file now:

[Linux] webalizer-2.01-10-static
Webalizer V2.01-10 (Linux 2.0.39) English
Using logfile STDIN (clf)
Creating output in current directory
Hostname for reports is 'router.inet'
History file not found...


Nothing happends after....

:wacko:
User avatar
x20
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 4:04 am

Postby dingetje » Mon Jun 14, 2004 3:43 am

You'll have to feed it a logfile...
Maybe it's time to read the manual??
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby dingetje » Mon Jun 14, 2004 3:48 am

Here's how I run webalizer using a cron entry around midnight:

/mnt/router/packages/webalizer/webalizer -c /mnt/router/packages/webalizer/webalizer.conf


The paths are for a FREESCO 027 box, so make sure to change them!
My config file for webalizer can be found <a href='http://dingetje.homeip.net/howto/webalizer.conf.txt' target='_blank'>here</a>

<span style='font-family:Courier'>[Linux] webalizer -h
Usage: webalizer [options] [log file]
-h? ? ? ? = print this help message
-v -V? ?  = print version information
-d? ? ? ? = print additional debug info
-F type?  = Log type.? type= (clf | ftp | squid)
-f? ? ? ? = Fold sequence errors
-i? ? ? ? = ignore history file
-p? ? ? ? = preserve state (incremental)
-q? ? ? ? = supress informational messages
-Q? ? ? ? = supress _ALL_ messages
-Y? ? ? ? = supress country graph
-G? ? ? ? = supress hourly graph
-H? ? ? ? = supress hourly stats
-L? ? ? ? = supress color coded graph legends
-l num? ? = use num background lines on graph
-m num? ? = Visit timout value (seconds)
-T? ? ? ? = print timing information
-c file?  = use configuration file 'file'
-n name?  = hostname to use
-o dir? ? = output directory to use
-t name?  = report title 'name'
-a name?  = hide user agent 'name'
-r name?  = hide referrer 'name'
-s name?  = hide site 'name'
-u name?  = hide URL 'name'
-x name?  = Use filename extension 'name'
-P name?  = Page type extension 'name'
-I name?  = Index alias 'name'
-A num? ? = Display num top agents
-C num? ? = Display num top countries
-R num? ? = Display num top referrers
-S num? ? = Display num top sites
-U num? ? = Display num top URLs
-e num? ? = Display num top Entry Pages
-E num? ? = Display num top Exit Pages
-g num? ? = Group Domains to 'num' levels
-X? ? ? ? = Hide individual sites
-D name?  = Use DNS Cache file 'name'
-N num? ? = Number of DNS processes (0=disable)</span>
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby x20 » Mon Jun 14, 2004 3:56 am

Thanks Dingetje works like a charm.
:D
User avatar
x20
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 4:04 am

Postby x20 » Mon Jun 14, 2004 5:08 am

Can i type this in crontab?

0,30 * * * * /www/webalizer/webalizer-2.01-10-static /usr/local/apache/logs/access_log
User avatar
x20
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 4:04 am

Postby Thasaidon » Mon Jun 14, 2004 5:46 am

What are you trying to do with
0,30
?
you want to run an update every 30 mins ?
Experience shared, is experience gained.

Thasaidon's Freesco Page




Image
User avatar
Thasaidon
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2002 9:38 am
Location: The Netherlands

Postby x20 » Mon Jun 14, 2004 6:06 am

yes i want to update every 30 mins
User avatar
x20
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 4:04 am

Postby dingetje » Mon Jun 14, 2004 6:17 am

every 30 minutes is very very often for a web log analyze. Once a day is more than enough, trust me.
(Unless of course you have thousands of hits in this half hour...)
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Next

Return to 3rd Party Package Requesting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron