Open Dns

Think you know a cool site ? Post it and let us all look.

Postby Thasaidon » Thu Jun 07, 2007 2:37 pm

<a href='http://www.opendns.com/' target='_blank'>http://www.opendns.com/</a>

is a project for people who want to use other DNS servers than those from their ISP.
Just use 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220 as DNS servers.

My ISP has krappy DNS servers which are down all the time.
So I started using these, they work perfectly!
Experience shared, is experience gained.

Thasaidon's Freesco Page




Image
User avatar
Thasaidon
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2002 9:38 am
Location: The Netherlands

Postby strampke » Sat Jun 09, 2007 6:22 am

Hi,

I implemented it in a Win XP client, but am not able to bypass the automagic dhcp request that Freesco does to my ISP. Freesco asks my ISP for an address, an address is assigned as well as primary and secondary DNS-servers.
Can this be changed in rc_user?

Strampke

edited:
Yes, it can be changed.
In setup go to 62 Local Networks
Then network 0 ->628 Set DNS via DHCP change to n
Then 41 -> 414 and 415 set to opendns server
You might even add your ISP nameservers as #3 and #4 just in case.

As usual: With Freesco you can set the internet to YOUR wishes!
Who knows knows, who doesn't doesn't.
User avatar
strampke
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 12:36 pm
Location: Delden, Netherlands

Postby Thasaidon » Sat Jun 09, 2007 1:49 pm

The reason your ISP's DNS servers are still used is probably because your Windows machine is getting an ip via DHCP from Freesco, thus including the DNS config from Freesco.

My network is setup with fixed ip's on all clients, and fixed DNS servers, so no DNS request goes via Freesco.

So in order to use these DNS servers via Freesco, you need to set them in the config, like you did :)
Experience shared, is experience gained.

Thasaidon's Freesco Page




Image
User avatar
Thasaidon
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2002 9:38 am
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Bettes » Tue Jun 12, 2007 6:13 am

So what is the catch ?
Can I trust it ?
Do they log your surfing behavior ?

I guess that they want to earn money somehow !
<b><span style='color:red'>Haunted by Murphy's Law</span></b>
User avatar
Bettes
Newbie
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2002 3:08 am
Location: Belgium

Postby Thasaidon » Tue Jun 12, 2007 6:24 am

So what is the catch ?

None that I know of.

Can I trust it ?

As far as I know you can.
I've been using these DNS servers for some time now
and I know people who have been using them far longer than I have.

Do they log your surfing behavior ?

I guess they do, but so does your ISP, so there is no difference there :)

Here in The Netherlands, ISP's are required by law to save ALL communications from ALL of their clients. This includes internet, e-mail, telephony, the works....
Experience shared, is experience gained.

Thasaidon's Freesco Page




Image
User avatar
Thasaidon
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2002 9:38 am
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Dutchblack » Wed Jun 13, 2007 2:14 pm

Hi


When you have DHCP setup you can still configure extra DNS for the third and forth dns alternative. so for your local client you only need to user the freesco local IP as DNS server.

Correct me if I'm wrong.

Cheers
User avatar
Dutchblack
Member
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat May 04, 2002 7:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Zedde » Wed Jun 13, 2007 11:46 pm

Dutchblack wrote: Hi


When you have DHCP setup you can still configure extra DNS for the third and forth dns alternative. so for your local client you only need to user the freesco local IP as DNS server.

Correct me if I'm wrong.

Cheers

Yupp your right :)
"From now until the end of the world,
we and it shall be remembered.
We few, we Band of Brothers.
For he who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother."
User avatar
Zedde
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Thasaidon » Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:54 am

Correct me if I'm wrong.

Your right, but I was talking about Freesco's Default settings... :)
Experience shared, is experience gained.

Thasaidon's Freesco Page




Image
User avatar
Thasaidon
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2002 9:38 am
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Lightning » Thu Jun 14, 2007 10:00 pm

When you have DHCP setup you can still configure extra DNS for the third and forth dns alternative. so for your local client you only need to user the freesco local IP as DNS server.

Correct me if I'm wrong.

I won't say that you are wrong, but you are only right in some cases. I had a cable modem ISP(charter.com) that provided four DNS servers in there DHCP lease. So in my case it would not work, but not all ISP's provide that many. If you are on a dialup or any type of PPP connection then PPP only has the capability of providing two DNS servers and in that scenerio you would be write. So wrong or write is dependant on how many DNS servers the specific ISP provides in a lease.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby Dutchblack » Sat Jun 16, 2007 6:59 am

Lightning,

I agree with you

:)
User avatar
Dutchblack
Member
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat May 04, 2002 7:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands


Return to Cool Links

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron