Apache On Freesco V04

Support section for FREESCO v0.4.x 3rd Party Packages

Postby nickie » Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:42 pm

What exactly is the kernel needed for installing apache_1.3.27b_dingetje.pkg.

NOT A PACKAGE ----> kernels/kernel-040.586-vipc-cd-triton-power_off <----
This is NOT a package, you can download this file and save it to your hard drive
by using the 'save' option and typing the name from within the package viewer,
or you can manually download it with the following commands:
> cd /boot/any-directory
> snarf <a href='http://lewys-spot.dyndns.org/packages/0.4.x/kernels/kernel-040.586-vipc-cd-triton-power_off' target='_blank'>http://lewys-spot.dyndns.org/packages/0.4....riton-power_off</a>
        File size 364 Kb.      Date Aug 28 2008




NOT A PACKAGE ----> kernels/kernel-040.686-dual-vipc-cd-triton-power_off <----


Reinstall processes:
This package will install Apache and backup your rc_httpd
    Possibly a new kernel will be required.

OpenSSL libraries found, good
/lib/libssl.so
/lib/libssl.so.0
/lib/libssl.so.0.9.7
mod_perl module found, good

    Apache requires a kernel with CONFIG_SYSVIPC enabled
    (shared memory)

    This install script can check if your kernel has CONFIG_SYSVIPC
    support built in.

Do you want to perform this check now (recommended) (y/n)? [y]

Your kernel was built without CONFIG_SYSVIPC

    Bummer! Your kernel cannot be used with this Apache version!
    I suggest you install a suitable kernel with VIPC enabled
    for freesco 0.4.x.


I did as instructed but new instalation always aborted
User avatar
nickie
Senior Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2001 10:48 am

Postby Lightning » Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:59 pm

All of the listed kernels will work with Apache and the other options depend on what type of CPU you are running. The only option that is critical in the kernel name for Apache is "vipc". However what I suspect the problem is related to is that once you download the kernel you must rename it to just "kernel" and it must be copied to the /boot/ directory. Then for ext2 installs you must run the "lilo" command and reboot the system.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 3005
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby nickie » Mon Dec 29, 2008 12:35 am

Sorry, forgot to rename <kernel-040.686-dual-vipc-cd-triton-power_off> to <kernel>. The installation ran perfect. Thanks
User avatar
nickie
Senior Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2001 10:48 am

Postby Lightning » Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:29 am

I hope that kernel is being installed on a dual processor or dual core cpu machine ???
Otherwise there will be some problems with incompatibility that will probably cause some instability.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 3005
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby nickie » Mon Dec 29, 2008 5:58 am

Got this type of kernel during apache installation setup. That is why I downloaded and sure it was the right one. My machine is not dual core type cpu. It is an IBM 300GL Intel Celeron 433 MHz. So which kernel should I use for this machine?

PS.
When I was using Freesco v027 got my webserver running perfectly. I can reached my box from anywhere in the world.
But my newer freesco v038 and this latest version v04 I cant make it available like the older version v027. I dont know whats wrong with my httpd.conf file. I check my ISP if they block port 80 and they said NO. But I check at grc.com all ports are stealth and closed. Any idea? Or is there any working httpd.conf file available outthere for double check. Thanks
User avatar
nickie
Senior Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2001 10:48 am

Postby Zedde » Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:00 am

Dume question but did you open the port in the setup ?

Not sure if the standard settings should be that when running Apache
"From now until the end of the world,
we and it shall be remembered.
We few, we Band of Brothers.
For he who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother."
User avatar
Zedde
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby nickie » Mon Dec 29, 2008 9:22 am

Yes I did open that port in setup. It can be seen during freesco boot up:
Starting Apache HTTPS server........................Done......Port 80......Open
Starting Apache HTTPS control/time server......Done......Port 82......Open  (It blinks)
User avatar
nickie
Senior Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2001 10:48 am

Postby Zedde » Mon Dec 29, 2008 9:36 am

nickie wrote: Yes I did open that port in setup. It can be seen during freesco boot up:
Starting Apache HTTPS server........................Done......Port 80......Open
Starting Apache HTTPS control/time server......Done......Port 82......Open  (It blinks)

Not a good idea to have Port 82 open.

but other then that I'm out of idea

sorry
"From now until the end of the world,
we and it shall be remembered.
We few, we Band of Brothers.
For he who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother."
User avatar
Zedde
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby dingetje » Mon Dec 29, 2008 10:19 am

You may need to edit the stock httpd.conf and set the ServerName directive to your external domain name. If you have the utils package installed you can use netstat -a -n | grep LISTEN to see if a process is listening to port 80. The output should show a line similar to this:

<span style='font-family:courier'>
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:80              0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN
</span>

Also do you really need HTTPS (Secure SSL socket)? You can reduce the memory foot print of Apache quite a bit if you follow the post install steps described in <a href='http://dingetje.homeip.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=88' target='_blank'>this thread</a> on my own forum.
GreetZ
http://dingetje.homeip.net

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO Crazed !!
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Lightning » Mon Dec 29, 2008 7:53 pm

My machine is not dual core type cpu. It is an IBM 300GL Intel Celeron 433 MHz. So which kernel should I use for this machine?

If you scroll down a few lines more you will find the exact same kernel as the one you installed except it will NOT have the "dual" word in it and that is the kernel you should install. If you use the "pkg" command and scroll to the very bottom of the package listing browser it is the second kernel from the very bottom. The "default" kernel is the last one.

It will be a very good idea to replace the kernel before you start trying to trouble shoot any other problems because I really can't say as to what all it could effect using the wrong kernel.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 3005
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby nickie » Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:33 am

Dingetje,
You may need to edit the stock httpd.conf and set the ServerName directive to your external domain name.

It's still: ServerName router.inet and it should be ServerName my.homeip.net right. I changed it and I got ->
URL Error (110):
Failed to connect to the specified host. Possible problems are that the server was not found, the connection timed out, or the connection refused by the host.

If you have the utils package installed you can use netstat -a -n | grep LISTEN to see if a process is listening to port 80. The output should show a line similar to this:

tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:80              0.0.0.0:*              LISTEN

I have installed utils as one of the dependency package of mc package that I need. But actually I dont know how to use utils. I just try wrote it down at putty screen: netstat -a -n | grep LISTEN but it didnt work.
Also do you really need HTTPS (Secure SSL socket)? You can reduce the memory foot print of Apache quite a bit if you follow the post install steps described in this thread on my own forum.

OpenSSL is one of the dependency package of Apache. So I should install it too. I think its a good idea to compress memory uses of my latest version of Freesco. I'll pay a visit to your forum. Thanks.
User avatar
nickie
Senior Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2001 10:48 am

Postby nickie » Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:34 am

Lightning wrote:If you scroll down a few lines more you will find the exact same kernel as the one you installed except it will NOT have the "dual" word in it and that is the kernel you should install. If you use the "pkg" command and scroll to the very bottom of the package listing browser it is the second kernel from the very bottom. The "default" kernel is the last one.

It will be a very good idea to replace the kernel before you start trying to trouble shoot any other problems because I really can't say as to what all it could effect using the wrong kernel.

Sorry, it was not kernel-040.686-dual-vipc-cd-triton-power_off that I changed the default kernel but it is kernel-040.586-vipc-cd-triton-power_off. I got the first kernel (686) at the second time I rechecked what kernel that I need and the second kernel (586) I got during installation processed of Apache. This kernel is in my box and should be replace the one you told. It is a Pentium II processor not Pentium I.
Thanks.
User avatar
nickie
Senior Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2001 10:48 am

Postby Lightning » Tue Dec 30, 2008 7:05 pm

The Apache problem seems sort of strange because the package will run directly after an install without any changes and the server name parameter set at router.inet will not effect the functioning of the server unless you are using virtualhosts without it being configured properly. So my guess is that there has been a change in the configuration that is causing the problem and unfortunately at least for me, I can't guess what that would be. So if you could attach your current /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf file then we can see what is set wrong.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 3005
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby dingetje » Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:52 am

also checking and/or posting your /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log may be usefull.

Also what output does the command netstat -a -n produce?
GreetZ
http://dingetje.homeip.net

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO Crazed !!
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby nickie » Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:12 pm

Lightning wrote:The Apache problem seems sort of strange because the package will run directly after an install without any changes and the server name parameter set at router.inet will not effect the functioning of the server unless you are using virtualhosts without it being configured properly. So my guess is that there has been a change in the configuration that is causing the problem and unfortunately at least for me, I can't guess what that would be. So if you could attach your current  /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf file then we can see what is set wrong.

I did some changes to httpd.conf file but I am afraid it is not about I can't access my web server. Here is my httpd.conf
User avatar
nickie
Senior Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2001 10:48 am

Next

Return to 3rd Party Package Support for FREESCO v0.4.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron