Please Help I Added My Report.txt

Support section for FREESCO v0.4.x

Postby ronsodos » Thu Feb 19, 2009 11:08 am

I really need help. I cannot figure the commands to create routes for the Internet to work. All my pings work. I can ping both sides of the router from my workstations. I can ping the inside address of my dsl router from inside (through the freesco router). I think it is that no gateways are set up. But I am new at this and treally need it working.
ronsodos

Postby dingetje » Thu Feb 19, 2009 3:51 pm

There was no need to start a new thread, you could have attached your report to the first thread you've started. Oh well...

I've noticed you used static IP setup, but its probably a LOT easier to have your modem give out an address to your FREESCO via DHCP. For that you need to enable the DHCP client on the 'internet' device of FREESCO.

Change these:

SDHCP=y    #DHCP client
DHCPDNS=y  #DNS via DHCP

That way the gateway and DNS will also be set correctly, because you've forgotten to set those:

# [ethernet/leased/printer/ras router]
GATEWAY=  #Gateway
DNSDDR=  #Primary DNS
DNSDDR1=  #Second
DNSDDR2=  #Third
DNSDDR3=  #Fourth

BTW that is the reason you can ping, but cannot go further.

Also it is highly recommended to enable the DHCP server on FREESCO:
NDHCP=y  #DHCP server

and then you'll need to provide a DHCP range for your LAN:
IPRANGE1="192.168.1.10 192.168.1.20" #DHCP server IP range

HTH
GreetZ
http://dingetje.homeip.net

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!

Postby ronsodos » Thu Feb 19, 2009 3:58 pm

I don't want DHCP at all. I access my individual PC's from outside by using port translation to each individual PC. It is way easier by being static. I knew I didn't have gateways set up, but i couldn't figure out what the commands are.

Question. The gateway should be the IP address of the NIC in the Freesco router on the DSL side of the Router, correct?