Vncserver_3.3_dingetje

Support section for FREESCO v0.3.x 3rd Party Packages

Postby lotus123r5 » Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:36 am

I have some questions about this package:
1) is there some documentation how this package works?
2) can i make a connection with a (ultra)vnc client or do i need another client.
3) can i make the connection with a windows client?.
4) does it works in the same way as a graphical vnc server / client, only shell based?.

Thx a lot.
User avatar
lotus123r5
Junior Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 7:58 am

Postby Lightning » Wed Mar 04, 2009 8:36 pm

1. There is some documentation inside the package in the configuration scripts.

2. Yes

3. Any VNC client will connect to the server even using a Windows VNC client.

4. Yes it actually uses a graphical interface. But be sure you understand the graphics portion is extremely limited because there is only the binaries that come with the package built to run graphics in FREESCO.
You also should know that you MUST load a mouse driver into the modules to get mouse support in the package.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 3006
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby lotus123r5 » Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:23 am

Thanks very much for the information supplied:
I installed:
pkg -i <a href='http://www.freescosoft.eu/0.3.x/vncserver_3.3_dingetje' target='_blank'>http://www.freescosoft.eu/0.3.x/vncserver_3.3_dingetje</a>
pkg -i <a href='http://www.freescosoft.eu/0.3.x/utils_1.1_dingetje' target='_blank'>http://www.freescosoft.eu/0.3.x/utils_1.1_dingetje</a>

i also read the following infomation:
<a href='http://www.freesco.org/support-forum/index.php?showtopic=14739' target='_blank'>http://www.freesco.org/support-forum/index...showtopic=14739</a>

i can also connect to my Freesco server 0.3.8 with ultraVNC1.02 viewer and the mouse is working correct (but i really don't need it with freesco).

situation:
freesco server is with monitor and keybord installed.
rc_vnserver start (is working).

I have tested the following:
1) client connects to the server, nobody is logged on into the Freesco server. the viewer connects to the server, you can only see a clock (left above). I can't login as root. Only the clock is working, it is not possible to get a freesco terminal.
2) root is logged on into the freesco server. client connects to the server, root is logged on into the Freesco server. the viewer connects to the server, but you can only see a clock. I cannot login as root. Only the clock is working, it is not possible to get a freesco terminal.
3) root is logged on into Freesco server. command: rc_vncserver restart. On display: Stopping vnscserver - Starting vncserver. Connecting with a client, i get a freesco command prompt. What i don't understand: FREESCO logo is blinking (knippert) on the viewer, but when i go to my freesco server (with monitor and keybord), it's not blinking.
3a) when i type some commands (example): ls -al <return> on the vncviewer, it is not displayed on the real freesco server. So the user root of the viewer is another root?. If i type exit on the viewer, i cannto make a connection anymore with the vncviewer (vncserver is still running), see 1). On the Freesco server (realtime) i'am still logged on as root.

Questions:

1) is it true that the viewer connected as root, is another root realtime on the Freesco server?, so it works like a telnet / ssh connection?
2) is it possible to get a logon when i'am not logged on to the freesco server?.

My experience with ultraVNC server / viewer, is that i take over a computer via VNCviewer and everything is see and do is wysiwig (what you see is what you get) and realtime on the (remote) vncserver. Is that also possible with the vncserver from dingetje? or is there another tool to make a connection just like a vncserver, the same way as it works with XP and Ubuntu?

Thx a lot.
User avatar
lotus123r5
Junior Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 7:58 am

Postby dingetje » Thu Mar 05, 2009 4:33 pm

You need to understand that this package is not a remote desktop in the way the normal VNC Server/Client is working.

The <a href='http://www.freesco.org/support-forum/index.php?showtopic=14739' target='_blank'>vncserver</a> package is based on Xvnc, which is actually two servers in one. On one end it's an X-server that can host X11 applications. On the other end it's a VNC server, so you can look at the X11 desktop using a VNC viewer.

FREESCO normally doesn't have a desktop, nor does it need one for that matter. This is just a fun package, but it can be useful in some cases. Personally I'm OK with just SSH shell access to my box.

To answer your questions:

1) Yes
2) Yes, you can even start multiple displays if you want, see the release announcement thread.

However "Due to higher security settings in the 035 kernel, this package may not work for normal users with the upcoming 035 version."
GreetZ
http://dingetje.homeip.net

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO Crazed !!
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby dreamer » Fri Mar 06, 2009 3:39 pm

dingetje wrote:However "Due to higher security settings in the 035 kernel, this package may not work for normal users with the upcoming 035 version."

035 kernel and 035 version ??????? :wacko:

I think I missed something. :huh:

Is Lightning working on a new version (0.45) with a 0.35 kernel ??? :wub:

Or shall I dream on? :D

I think I understand. Was too late for me last night.
Must make sure I'm awake when reading and replaying. B)

Dingetje is working on a new version (035) of the VNC package.
The kernel security settings changed from freesco version 0.35 onwards.

Pfew, that is not so hard to understand at least if one is awake. :lol:
This message has been put together from recycled bits.

"Hope is a waking dream." - - Aristotle.
User avatar
dreamer
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 3:11 am
Location: The Netherlands

Postby lotus123r5 » Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:54 am

Thx a lot for the information.
It's working!
User avatar
lotus123r5
Junior Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 7:58 am

Postby Lightning » Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:40 pm

However "Due to higher security settings in the 035 kernel, this package may not work for normal users with the upcoming 035 version."

This statement is pointed at FREESCO version 0.3.5 and the kernel that comes with it. Not widely known is that Dingetje is still running v0.3.5, although I am not sure where the word "upcoming" came from

[guilt on](might be time for an upgrade ????) :o ;) :P [guilt off]

However what is probably not known is that in FREESCO 037+ kernels some of those extra security settings were removed due to the various problems getting some aplications to run. So most likely the issues would only be in 0.3.5 and 0.3.6
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 3006
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to 3rd Party Package Support for FREESCO v0.3.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest