Poptop

Support section for FREESCO v0.3.x 3rd Party Packages

Postby Dutchblack » Sun Aug 31, 2008 10:59 am

Hi i did install the newest poptop version J.

Everything works fine until you want to brows the internet.
For some reason the old ip-up would route the internet request well and the last version is blocking all internet connection leaving you withouth internet while vpn conection is on.
I have replaced ip-up with one ip-up from older version look at ( quoted peace) now it is working.
I would like to check if this was the proper way to handle.

#!/bin/sh

PATH=/boot/bin:/pkg/bin:/pkg/sbin:/pkg/rc:/rc:/bin:/sbin
export PATH
for i in 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10; do
        a="1.1.1.$i"
        if [ "$4" = "$a" ]; then
                rc_dns restart
                exit 0
        fi
done
A=$4;B=$5;C=$1
set -- ""
set -- `cat /etc/pptpd.conf |sed '/^#/d' |sed -n '/localip/P' |sed 's/.*locali
N=$4; [ $5 ] && IPSTOP=$5 || IPSTOP=$4
while [ $N -le $IPSTOP ]; do
        if [ "$A" = "$1.$2.$3.$N" ]; then
                ipfwadm -I -i accept -b -W $C -S $B -o
                ipfwadm -F -i masquerad -b -S $B -o
                rc_dns restart
                exit 0
        fi

        N=`expr $N + 1`                                                      done                                                                          . /etc/system.cfg                                                            . /etc/shaper.cfg                                                            . /etc/live.cfg                                                              echo "Your inet addr: $A<br>ISP P-t-P: $B" >/tmp/state                        [ $DNS1 ] && b="DNSDDR=$DNS1"                                                [ $DNS2 -a $DNS1 != $DNS2 ] && c="DNSDDR1=$DNS2"                              cat >/etc/live.cfg <<~                                                        ROUTER=$ROUTER                                                                BOOTMOD=$BOOTMOD                                                              VERSION=$VERSION                                                              BOOTDEV=$BOOTDEV                                                              BOOTIME="$BOOTIME"                                                            PPPLINK=$C                                                                    IPADDR=$A                                                                    $b                                                                            $c                                                                            ~                                                                            [ "$SPPP" = y ] && date >/tmp/connect && chmod 644 /tmp/connect              chmod 644 /etc/live.cfg 
rc_main newip ip-up                                                          if [ "$SHPR" = y ]; then                                                              a=`cat /var/shaper.ppp`                                                      shapecfg attach shaper$a $C                                                  shapecfg speed shaper$a ${SPEEDPPP:-50000}                                    ifconfig shaper$a $A                                                          route add default shaper$a                                                    for i in $NOLIMIT; do                                                        route add -host $i $C                                                        done                                                                  fi                                                                            exit 0   
User avatar
Dutchblack
Member
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat May 04, 2002 7:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby vgross » Wed Oct 15, 2008 5:54 am

Hello. all,
Please help me with a trouble with poptop package.
Freesco 0.3.8 have installed next packages:
ipfm_0.11.5_dingetje* perl-5.6.1-1-dingetje*
lightsquid_1.7.1_system32* poptop-1.1.3j-lightning*
mc-4.6.0-lightning* squid-2.5.s3-lightning*
openssl-0.9.6g_user_nadegda* utils_1.1_dingetje*

All works fine BUT... When vpn client logoff , system make big swap and stupid about 5 minuts. In this time result of ps is next:

Pid Stat Parent Line Name Command
1 S 0 init init
2 S 1 kflushd
3 S 1 kswapd
272 S 1 syslogd syslogd-r-h-m0
274 S 1 klogd
981 S 1 update update
1047 S 1 pppd pppddefaultroutemru1492mtu1492ptyppp
1049 S 1 pppmon sh/sbin/pppmon82.200.171.6
1055 S 1047 sh
1058 S 1055 pppoe pppoe-Ieth0-m1452
1471 S 1 dropbear dropbear-p22
1672 S 1 thttpd thttpd-d/wwa-p82-uroot
1769 S 1 crond
3213 S 1 logrotate logrotatehda1500005000,50000
3233 S 1 servermon sh/sbin/servermon
3247 S 1 agetty
3248 S 1 agetty
8754 S 1 pppd /sbin/pppdlocalfile/etc/ppp/pptpd.op
11774 S 1471 dropbear dropbear-p22
11777 S 11774 ttyp1 ile ile
11808 S 11777 ttyp1 sh sh
21059 S 8754 auth-down sh/etc/ppp/auth-downppp5vpnc
21061 S 21059 killall sh/sbin/killallrastimerppp5
21062 S 21061 killall sh/sbin/killallrastimerppp5
21063 S 21062 killall sh/sbin/killall
21064 S 21062 sed
21065 S 21063 killall sh/sbin/killall
21066 S 21065 killall sh/sbin/killall
21067 S 21065 sed
21068 S 21066 killall sh/sbin/killall
21070 S 21068 killall sh/sbin/killall
21071 S 21068 sed
21072 S 21070 killall sh/sbin/killall
21073 S 21072 killall sh/sbin/killall
21074 S 21072 sed
21075 S 21073 killall sh/sbin/killall
21081 S 21075 killall sh/sbin/killall
21082 S 21075 sed
21083 S 21081 killall sh/sbin/killall
21086 S 21083 killall sh/sbin/killall
21087 S 21083 sed
21089 S 21086 killall sh/sbin/killall
21091 S 21089 killall sh/sbin/killall
21092 S 21089 sed
21095 S 21091 killall sh/sbin/killall
21098 S 21095 killall sh/sbin/killall
21099 S 21095 sed
21100 S 21098 killall sh/sbin/killall
21103 S 21100 killall sh/sbin/killall
21104 S 21100 sed
21107 S 21103 killall sh/sbin/killall
21109 S 21107 killall sh/sbin/killall
21111 S 21107 sed
21112 S 21109 killall sh/sbin/killall
21116 S 21112 killall sh/sbin/killall
21117 S 21112 sed
21119 S 21116 killall sh/sbin/killall
21122 S 21119 killall sh/sbin/killall
21123 S 21119 sed
21127 S 21122 killall sh/sbin/killall
21132 S 21127 killall sh/sbin/killall
21133 S 21127 sed
21134 S 21132 killall sh/sbin/killall
21136 S 21134 killall sh/sbin/killall
21137 S 21134 sed
21140 S 21136 killall sh/sbin/killall
21143 S 21140 killall sh/sbin/killall
21144 S 21140 sed
21145 S 21143 killall sh/sbin/killall
21148 S 21145 killall sh/sbin/killall
21149 S 21145 sed


... and so one ... and last lines is :

21469 S 21467 killall sh/sbin/killall
21470 S 21469 killall sh/sbin/killall
21471 S 21469 sed
21472 S 21470 killall
21953 S 11808 ps sh/bin/ps


What to do ???

may be files of configurations to attach ?

ps: sorry my english
Freesco v0.4.0, CPU:PentiumMMX-100, RAM:64MB, HDD:1Gb, 3xNE2000ISA.
User avatar
vgross
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:41 am
Location: .kz

Postby Lightning » Wed Oct 15, 2008 8:45 am

Unfortunately this has been a problem on systems that don't have enough memory and use a swap file. My advice is to turn your swap file off and see if it helps.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby vgross » Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:33 pm

Thanks, Lightning.
I tried this. All legitimate... Now I see "Memory fault" at this point... and so with 64 MB ???
I remember, that after installation package and reboot freesco, my inet connection is not taken up (PPPoE). And I had to edit a file rc_poptop ...next lines was moved from section boot to section start:

insmod -f /usr/local/poptop/ppp_mppe.o
ln -sf /pkg/etc/ppp/chap-secrets /etc/ppp/
ln -sf /pkg/etc/ppp/pptpd.opt /etc/ppp/
ln -sf /pkg/etc/ppp/ip-up /etc/ppp/
ln -sf /pkg/etc/ppp/ip-down /etc/ppp/



I repeat, without it, the main connection is not taken up (with authorization error).
May be here my mistake ?
Freesco v0.4.0, CPU:PentiumMMX-100, RAM:64MB, HDD:1Gb, 3xNE2000ISA.
User avatar
vgross
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:41 am
Location: .kz

Postby vgross » Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:47 pm

my sysinfo
Freesco v0.4.0, CPU:PentiumMMX-100, RAM:64MB, HDD:1Gb, 3xNE2000ISA.
User avatar
vgross
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:41 am
Location: .kz

Postby Lightning » Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:47 am

The problem with moving the section that changes the pppd binary from the boot section to the start section is that it will not work because the /sbin/pppd binary will be busy with the PPPoE connection and the transfer will not happen. You then will have a binary that will not work for PoPToP. Of course the problem may be that the changed pppd binary may not work with the PPPoE connection but I have no way of confirming that one way or the other. But I would at least try it by moving the line that changes the binary back to the boot) section and leaving the linking of ip-up and ip-down in the start section.
DOMAIN=fdr.kst.tcom #612 Local domain
the DOMAIN should be just a single arguement which could be the default of "inet" or if you prefer it could just be "tcom" but it should not be what you have because the domain is only really used by the DNS server to resolve URLs and to know the difference between a local URL and an Internet URL.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby vgross » Thu Oct 16, 2008 5:17 am

Dear Lightning,
You then will have a binary that will not work for PoPToP

You want to say that this combination (pppoe and pptpd )is not functioning?
Is it possible to divide binary so they do not interfere with each other?
About local domain name... what problems will be?
Freesco v0.4.0, CPU:PentiumMMX-100, RAM:64MB, HDD:1Gb, 3xNE2000ISA.
User avatar
vgross
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:41 am
Location: .kz

Postby Lightning » Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:17 pm

The domain will cause some confusion with the server knowing what it's own name is. The way you have it configured if you want to reach the router by name you have to use fsco.fdr.kst.tcom and then all local names will be pc1.fdr.kst.tcom and it serves no purpose what so ever to have it that way. The system is designed to just have one name segment and one unqualified domain segment. So what you choose to call it is up to you, but it should just be a single arguement for the name and the domain like fsco.tcom because it serves no other usefull purpose than to make the DNS server recognize a local URL and try and resolve it locally rather than always using the ISP DNS server for local lookups.

As for any way to split up the pppd binary, unfortunately there is no way that I know of because all sub processes including the main pppd binary it's self always looks for pppd in the /sbin directory and uses a full PATH at all times so there is no way to trick it into anywhere else.

One thing that you might try and I do on my own system is to take the ppp_mppe.o and copy it to the /boot/drv/ directory and let the system load that module along with the other modules. Then remove or comment out the boot) section that loads it with "insmod" in the rc_poptop script. This changes the memory location of the module in the kernel and it may resolve some of the main connection issues with the different pppd binary.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby vgross » Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:13 am

Hi
Transferring the driver ppp_mppe.o in /boot/drv did not give specific effect.
If the 64MB memory little, then how much would be enough?

and more... after remove ppp_mppe.o from /boot/drv and reboot , lsmod show me that he loaded :o
Freesco v0.4.0, CPU:PentiumMMX-100, RAM:64MB, HDD:1Gb, 3xNE2000ISA.
User avatar
vgross
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:41 am
Location: .kz


Return to 3rd Party Package Support for FREESCO v0.3.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests