Iptotal Page Is Blank On Freesco 0.3.8

Support section for FREESCO v0.3.x 3rd Party Packages

Postby markmcjr » Sat Jul 12, 2008 4:27 pm

I installed IPTOTAL on my newly built Freesco 0.3.8 server and when I try to view its page <a href='http://192.168.200.1/iptotal/iptotal.cgi' target='_blank'>http://192.168.200.1/iptotal/iptotal.cgi</a> the browser shows a blank page - no errors.

any thoughts?
<br>Regards,<br>Mark<br><br><span style='color:purple'>-------------------------<br>www.mytruetech.com<br><br>Great technology makes people successful; Great people make technology successful. - MM</span>
User avatar
markmcjr
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 3:41 pm

Postby dingetje » Sun Jul 13, 2008 2:46 pm

What web server do you use?

iptotal.cgi lives outside the normal /www/cgi directory, so you'll have to tell the web server the /www/iptotal directory is to be handled as a CGI.
GreetZ
http://dingetje.homeip.net

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1004
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby markmcjr » Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:08 pm

Good question - I am using whatever comes with Freesco, dont remember installing a web server on 0.3.6.

Curious enough, there is no httpd.conf file (that I could find), however, my internal website and web console work.
<br>Regards,<br>Mark<br><br><span style='color:purple'>-------------------------<br>www.mytruetech.com<br><br>Great technology makes people successful; Great people make technology successful. - MM</span>
User avatar
markmcjr
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 3:41 pm

Postby Lightning » Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:49 am

It is difficult to remember back to 036, but I am pretty sure that was the version that repaired the CGI scripting in the server. So there is no problem with the built in web server running that CGI script.
So I would be double checking file permissions on the executable and the directory to make sure that it is ok.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 3049
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby dingetje » Mon Jul 14, 2008 10:00 am

The internal web server of FREESCO is based on thttpd and it doesn't have nor require an httpd.conf. This tiny but powerful web server is controlled via command line switches.

Now, I'm pretty sure the iptotal package sets all the directory and file rights correctly, but like I've mentioned before you may have to tell the web server that /www/iptotal can contain CGI scripts, where these scripts are normally expected in /www/cgi.
(iptotal was my very first FREESCO package (back in 027 days) and the decision to use a directory other then /www/cgi hunts me to this day ;) )

The question to Lightning is, what CGI pattern is used in thttpd in FREESCO?

You can set a different pattern by providing a CGI pattern in the command line that start thttpd (see rc_httpd script).

See the thttpd man page for the syntax.

I will also try iptotal on a FREESCO 0.3.8 test box and see if I can reproduce the problem.
GreetZ
http://dingetje.homeip.net

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1004
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Lightning » Mon Jul 14, 2008 6:18 pm

The question to Lightning is, what CGI pattern is used in thttpd in FREESCO?
As this and other problems were directly related to the restrictive directory structure for CGI script. I changed the pattern in 036 to be "**.cgi". So cgi scripts can run from any where since 036. If this was an 035- system then special flags would be needed. I also performed a test with the default web server and no special flags and it runs IPTOTAL without any issues. So I would say the problem lies elsewhere, of course where is the big question to be answered.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 3049
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby dingetje » Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:39 pm

The iptotal CGI is processed by a binary that's part of my RRDTOOL package.

This can be seen in the first line of the iptotal.cgi
Code: Select all
[root@Freesco] more iptotal.cgi
#!/usr/local/rrdtool/bin/rrdcgi

<!--
######################################################################
#            _       _        _        _
#           (_)     | |      | |      | |
#            _ _ __ | |_ ___ | |_ __ _| |
#           | | '_ \| __/ _ \| __/ _` | |
#           | | |_) | || (_) | || (_| | |
#           |_| .__/ \__\___/ \__\__,_|_|
#             | |
#             |_| V0.3 Dec. 17, 2001
#                 By Antoine Megens
#                 webmaster@dingetje.homeip.net


When you type the next command in a shell, do you get a 'can't load library' error?
The binary should respond like this:
Code: Select all
[root@Freesco] /usr/local/rrdtool/bin/rrdcgi
(offline mode: enter name=value pairs on standard input)

type ctrl-D to exit at this point.

Did you install both the rrdtool and perl package or just the rrdtool?
If the latter, try installing perl as well and try again.

HTH

[edit]
Has it really been almost 7 years since I wrote that package?
[/edit]
GreetZ
http://dingetje.homeip.net

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1004
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby markmcjr » Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:05 pm

thanks - this was fixed by installing perl and the rrdtool packages.
<br>Regards,<br>Mark<br><br><span style='color:purple'>-------------------------<br>www.mytruetech.com<br><br>Great technology makes people successful; Great people make technology successful. - MM</span>
User avatar
markmcjr
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 3:41 pm


Return to 3rd Party Package Support for FREESCO v0.3.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron