Hosts Package (aka Adblocker) Rc_dns Problem ...

Support section for FREESCO v0.3.x 3rd Party Packages

Postby bob selby » Sun Dec 16, 2007 2:03 pm

Hi,

I have just setup 038 and installed this package and am getting "permision denied" when the router starts up.

Looks like the "x" priveledge is missing from rc_dns (in /etc/rc)

Its odd because I didnt have this error when I installed it under 027.

I seem to have fixed it by copying the file to /pkg/rc and chmoding it. I assume thats the correct place for it ??

TIA Bob
bob selby
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 8:18 am
Location: London, UK

Postby Lightning » Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:23 pm

This was a problem in one of the older versions of the hosts package. So I recommend removing the package and installing the latest version from my own web site.
Code: Select all
pkg -i http://lewys-spot.dyndns.org/packages/0.3.x/hosts-1.6-lightning

There are also other useful new features in the newer package such as web control and white listing URLs that might be blocked normally.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 3020
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby bob selby » Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:15 pm

Oh - OK

I got my copy from the main download site figuring that that may be the latest and greatest.

Thanks :-)
bob selby
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 8:18 am
Location: London, UK

Postby bob selby » Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:17 pm

Sorry - I should have read the WHOLE post on the announcements area :-)
Thx
bob selby
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 8:18 am
Location: London, UK

Postby bob selby » Mon Dec 17, 2007 1:22 pm

Hehe - all working :-)

The web interface is very useful - but it would be nice to be able to view the exclude file and add URLs to exclude from the web interface rather than have to edit the exclude file. Unless I am missing something (wouldn't be the first time) ???

TIA
Bob
bob selby
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 8:18 am
Location: London, UK

Postby Lightning » Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:54 pm

No you didn't miss anything. I had actually considered adding that ability into the package. But at the time I had other priorities and didn't have the time to make a cgi script that would do that. But this is not the last version of the hosts package and the feature is still on my mind to some degree. Of course if anyone else wants to make the scripting it would be a simple matter to add it. :happy:
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 3020
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby dRB » Wed Dec 19, 2007 2:03 am

:) well, took a couple of moments to add the extra control panel controls for this..

Add, Delete, Flush and View of hosts.exclude content. I guess Lightning can integrate it into the package if he wants, either way you can grab the tarred file as follows:

Code: Select all
cd /pkg/addons
snarf http://www.rbtd.com/packages/non-package/Hosts.tar
tar -x -fHosts.tar


I didn't check to make sure if the permissions were preserved, so make sure the the 4 files have proper permissions (755)

/dRB

PS.
Just checked ... permissions are preserved :wink:
Please bear with me ... I seemed to have lost my marbles.
User avatar
dRB
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2002 2:08 am
Location: Dryden, Ontario. CANADA

Postby bob selby » Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:00 pm

Seems to work OK in general :-)

What is flush supposed to do ??

When I try it I get:

FLUSH-EXCLUDES
Flushing hosts... Done

ACTIVATING CHANGES
Flush-Excludes.cgi: cannot create pkg/etc/hosts.exclude: No such file or directory

Not sure about this ??

TIA
Bob
bob selby
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 8:18 am
Location: London, UK

Postby dRB » Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:07 pm

What is flush supposed to do ??

Flushes the entire excludes list of all hosts

ACTIVATING CHANGES

Just in case you weren't aware, changes to the hosts.exclude file need to be activated


Flush-Excludes.cgi: cannot create pkg/etc/hosts.exclude: No such file or directory

oooops! this should not happen. The "cat" command should have no issues to create/open this file for writing. Let me get back to you on this with fix in hand.

EDIT..
ok, my bad. I had an incorrect path in the Flush-Excludes.cgi script. You can either download the tar file again; or edit your existing file as follows:

locate this line:
Code: Select all
cat >pkg/etc/hosts.exclude <<-!


and edit it as follows:
Code: Select all
cat >/pkg/etc/hosts.exclude <<-!


/dRB
Please bear with me ... I seemed to have lost my marbles.
User avatar
dRB
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2002 2:08 am
Location: Dryden, Ontario. CANADA

Postby Lightning » Wed Dec 19, 2007 8:08 pm

I have updated the hosts package to version 1.7, which includes the additional CGI scripting. However I removed the "flush" button as I foresee this as an oops waiting to happen accidentally and it is way to easy to click that button just to see what happens and lose all of your entries.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 3020
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby dRB » Wed Dec 19, 2007 9:34 pm

probably a good idea :wacko:

/dRB

EDIT
I've followed Lightning's lead and removed the flush script from the tar file as well. Having the tar file on hand is now redundant as Lightning has updated the hosts release, so I will remove the tar file in a day or two. :D
Please bear with me ... I seemed to have lost my marbles.
User avatar
dRB
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2002 2:08 am
Location: Dryden, Ontario. CANADA

Postby bob selby » Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:17 am

Many thanks guys ... as always a very prompt and efficient service :-)
Merry Xmas all
Bob
bob selby
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 8:18 am
Location: London, UK

Postby bob selby » Mon Feb 25, 2008 11:08 am

This package works great it has eliminated a hell of a lot of cr*p :-)

... but is there any way of adding hosts that I want to disable that are not included in the downloaded set ???

I have discovered a very annoying source of popups that I can eliminate by adding a line to /pkg/etc/hosts.dnld and then doing a "rc_hosts stop" and "rc_hosts start" but the changes get lost each time the system updates the files (once a week).

It would be a nice little extra ;-)
bob selby
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2001 8:18 am
Location: London, UK

Postby effo » Mon Feb 25, 2008 1:04 pm

With some bash knowledge it should be quite easy to add a few rows to rc_hosts, where the additional hosts are added to the dnld file. Or maybe easier:
* create a text file with the hosts to exclude (eg myhosts.txt)
* at the end of the update) section of rc_hosts, add something like
cat myhosts.txt >> hosts.dnld
This is Linux country. On a silent night you can hear Windows reboot.
User avatar
effo
Senior Member
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2002 5:28 am

Postby Lightning » Mon Feb 25, 2008 9:32 pm

Actually the system it's self has this capability. Just go into the advanced setup and under the DNS server just use the export services option and add any site you want into it with an ip of 0.0.0.0 something like

0.0.0.0 (TAB) annouying-site.com


Once you are finished just use

rc_dns restart

and that site will no longer be accessible by it's name and the hosts update will no longer remove it.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 3020
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Next

Return to 3rd Party Package Support for FREESCO v0.3.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron