Apache And Domain Name

Support section for FREESCO v0.3.x 3rd Party Packages

Postby dRB » Thu Nov 15, 2007 4:48 pm

:wacko: oops. sorry about that pollo. I uploaded the wrong file.

Try this file:
<a href='http://www.rbtd.com/pollo/pollo2.httpd.conf.txt' target='_blank'>pollo2.httpd.conf.txt</a>

A quick port scan reveals that port 80 as well as port 1080 are closed.

make sure that FREESCO setup http server options #441 and #442 have proper values.

restart apache server. if you had to correct values for 441/442, then restart FREESCO

/dRB
Please bear with me ... I seemed to have lost my marbles.
User avatar
dRB
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2002 2:08 am
Location: Dryden, Ontario. CANADA

Postby pollo » Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:37 pm

dRB,
Uploaded your attached httpd.conf file and restarted it, and here is the error from error_log file
[Thu Nov 15 19:58:13 2007] [crit] (98)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to port 80
[Thu Nov 15 23:26:13 2007] [crit] (98)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to port 80

Thanks
pollo
User avatar
pollo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 10:34 pm

Postby dRB » Fri Nov 16, 2007 12:40 am

The apache addon for FREESCO practically works right out of the box, so in reality the install should be a relatively painless procedure.

I think a report.txt is in order, to help identify what is preventing apache from binding to the port. If you can attach a report.txt that would be great.

OR

Perhaps we are dealing with an apache install that has "failed" at some level. To test this, uninstall apache, and install from an alternate location, such as
<a href='http://lewys-spot.dyndns.org:1080/packages/0.3.x/apache_1.3.27_dingetje' target='_blank'>http://lewys-spot.dyndns.org:1080/packages...1.3.27_dingetje</a>

I would lean more towards the latter, but a report.txt certainly wont hurt.


/dRB
Please bear with me ... I seemed to have lost my marbles.
User avatar
dRB
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2002 2:08 am
Location: Dryden, Ontario. CANADA

Postby pollo » Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:28 pm

dRB,
I really appreciate your help.This is my first time to configure apache.
I uninstalled and reinstalled apache from dingetje's link. With new apache, I get
If you can see this, it means that the installation of the Apache web server software on this system was successful. You may now add content to this directory and replace this page. 
I am attaching my new httpd.conf file(unmodified) which you can add VirtualHost directives which we could not make to work in the previous file.

Thanks

pollo
User avatar
pollo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 10:34 pm

Postby dRB » Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:35 pm

:) that's a good sign.

backup the httpd.conf of the new install, and then replace with the config file here
<a href='http://www.rbtd.com/pollo/pollo2.httpd.conf.txt' target='_blank'>http://www.rbtd.com/pollo/pollo2.httpd.conf.txt</a>

restart apache ... and post your feedback

/dRB
Please bear with me ... I seemed to have lost my marbles.
User avatar
dRB
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2002 2:08 am
Location: Dryden, Ontario. CANADA

Postby pollo » Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:43 pm

Thank you very much for your labor and patience. It seems to be working. With <a href='http://jogo.homeip.net' target='_blank'>http://jogo.homeip.net</a> I can see the web page (index.htm) in jogo . I have few questions;
1. I think the big problem here was directory directive. If I have more domains do I have to create directory directive for each domain as below.
<Directory "/boot/jogo">Options Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews
    AllowOverride None
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
</Directory>

2. What is the best way to download the file you sent to me (http://www.rbtd.com/pollo/pollo2.httpd.conf.txt) in my case I opened the file and saved it on a floppy as a text file. Although it worked it seems to me as if there is a better way
Thanks very much again.

pollo
User avatar
pollo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 10:34 pm

Postby pollo » Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:55 pm

Hello dRB,

My last post was for you.

thanks.

pollo
User avatar
pollo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 10:34 pm

Postby dingetje » Sat Nov 17, 2007 7:13 pm

What is the best way to download the file you sent to me


You best use the FREESCO built-in command line download client called snarf
That way you can download from FTP and HTTP URL's directly onto your FREESCO.

BTW: Glad that you finally got it working and a big THANK YOU to dRB!
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby dRB » Sun Nov 18, 2007 10:25 am

Hi pollo

One of the issues was certainly the FollowSymLinks directive not being applied.

If I have more domains do I have to create directory directive for each domain as below.


yes, unless you have a domain as sub-directory in a predefined Directory block.

To answer your second question, I'd go with Dingetje's suggestion.

Glad you were able to get the sites up and running ;)

/dB
Please bear with me ... I seemed to have lost my marbles.
User avatar
dRB
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2002 2:08 am
Location: Dryden, Ontario. CANADA

Postby pollo » Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:43 am

Hello dRB

I hate to bother you after you gave me allot time of your help!

yes, unless you have a domain as sub-directory in a predefined Directory block.
This does not seem to work for me. Here is the setup of third domain I get the web page of previous /boot/jogo not /boot/got for the third domain (college.homeip.net). I might have done something wrong!

<Directory "/boot/got">
    Options Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews
    AllowOverride None
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
</Directory>


<VirtualHost *>
ServerName college.homeip.net
ServerAdmin root@localhost
ServerAlias college.homeip.net
#ServerAlias college.homeip.net *.college.homeip.net *
ErrorLog /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log.college
TransferLog /usr/local/apache/logs/access_log.college
CustomLog /usr/local/apache/logs/access_log.college combined
DocumentRoot /boot/got
</VirtualHost>



Thanks again.

pollo
User avatar
pollo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 10:34 pm

Postby dingetje » Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:02 pm

jogo.homeip.net resolves to an IP address, but college.homeip.net doesn't (at least on my end).
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby dRB » Mon Nov 19, 2007 5:53 pm

The reason the domain doesn't resolve is that it does not exist.

(I just went into dyndns.org and successfully created college.homeip.net, and then deleted the hostname.)

;)

/dRB
Please bear with me ... I seemed to have lost my marbles.
User avatar
dRB
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2002 2:08 am
Location: Dryden, Ontario. CANADA

Postby pollo » Mon Nov 19, 2007 9:10 pm

Hello dRB and dingetje,
The reason the domain doesn't resolve is that it does not exist

Yes, I am sorry I put a wrong domain (<span style='color:red'>college.homeip.net</span>). I meant <span style='color:red'>educationtechnology.homeip.net </span>instead
<Directory "/boot/got">
Options Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews
    AllowOverride None
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
</Directory>

<VirtualHost *>
ServerName educationtechnology.homeip.net
ServerAdmin root@localhost
ServerAlias educationtechnology.homeip.net
#ServerAlias educationtechnology.homeip.net *.educationtechnology.homeip.net *
ErrorLog /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log.educationtechnology
TransferLog /usr/local/apache/logs/access_log.educationtechnology
CustomLog /usr/local/apache/logs/access_log.educationtechnology combined
DocumentRoot /boot/got
</VirtualHost>

Thanks again,
pollo
User avatar
pollo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 10:34 pm

Postby dRB » Mon Nov 19, 2007 9:33 pm

One thing to understand with the mechanics of listing VirtualHost blocks, is that with wildcards (*) order in part does matter.

Let's assume you have 3 sites:
AA.dom, BB.dom, CC.dom

And site BB will be the default for all web access that is NOT site AA or CC

And you set the following order of Directory directives:
Code: Select all
<... *>
ServerAlias AA.dom
</...>
<... *>
ServerAlias BB.dom *
</...>
<... *>
ServerAlias CC.dom *
</...>


Then site CC will NOT be reachable, because the ServerAlias wildcard for site BB takes precedence.

And in further comment on the above example, the aliasing for both sites BB and CC are "contradictory" as a lone wildcard aliasing is being applied against both domains.

The above example is properly setup as follows:
Code: Select all
<... *>
ServerAlias AA.dom
</...>
<... *>
ServerAlias CC.dom *.CC.dom
</...>
<... *>
ServerAlias BB.dom *
</...>


I can interchange the VirtualHost order of AA and CC, as one will have no effect on the other. But to list VirtualHost BB at the "top" of the list will render sites AA and CC inaccessible.

/dRB
Please bear with me ... I seemed to have lost my marbles.
User avatar
dRB
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2002 2:08 am
Location: Dryden, Ontario. CANADA

Postby pollo » Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:19 pm

Hello dRB,

<... *>
ServerAlias AA.dom
</...>
<... *>
ServerAlias CC.dom *.CC.dom
</...>
<... *>
ServerAlias BB.dom *
</...>


Thanks allot for the above example, it works well with the three domains
I am not familiar with wildcard concept (*) and if I have multiple domains (KK1.dom, KK2.dom, KK3.dom----------KKn), what is the procedure? Any reading material for this? I tried one DD.dom after AA.dom and after CC.dom with no success.


Thanks

pollo
User avatar
pollo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 10:34 pm

PreviousNext

Return to 3rd Party Package Support for FREESCO v0.3.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron