My box just stops

Support section for FREESCO v0.3.x

My box just stops

Postby justdave » Fri Jun 25, 2010 8:48 am

I've had my box working for many years.

I just moved it from an enclosed cabinet to a closet.

It just stops working. No ssh, no web nothing.

I will attach a report from the time that i reset it.

dave
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
justdave
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2001 2:00 am
Location: san jose Ca USA

Re: My box just stops

Postby Lightning » Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:08 pm

The number one reason that any Linux machine completely locks up is from disk or file system corruption. I would recommend un-mounting your extra drives and partitions and running e2fsck on them to make sure there are no issues with the file system. If that doesn't show anything then I would leave the machine set on screen 3 to watch the logs and see what the last logs are the system displays. Most likely it will show a specific drive as the culprit.

If none of that is the problem then especially with machines that have ran fine for years I would make absolutely certain the processor fan is running and clean and the power supply fan as well. I would then remove all of the cards and re-seat them in there slots because moving can sometimes flex them loose.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 12079
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to FREESCO Support for v0.3.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron