vncserver_3.3_dingetje

Announcements of packages that are now released.

Postby dingetje » Sun Oct 23, 2005 2:47 pm

This package is based on Xvnc, which is actually two servers in one. On one end it's an X-server that can host X11 applications. On the other end it's a VNC server, so you can look at th X11 desktop using a VNC viewer.

Image

This package is BETA, so there may be some things (hopefully minor) issues to iron out. The package is also HUGE for FREESCO standards, this is mainly caused by the X11 fonts in the package.

After installation the Xvnc server will ONLY bind to localhost, so you MUST setup a SSH tunnel (port 590x to 127.0.0.1, where x is the displaynumber) to access the desktop. If you don't need/want this, then you'll need to change the localhost setting by running rc_vncserver setup

Code: Select all
pkg -i http://dingetje.homeip.net/beta/0.3.x/vncserver_3.3_dingetje


You can start a Xvnc sessions with:

vncserver [displaynumber]

where displaynumber is a digit between 0 and 9 (default is 1).
The first time you start Xvnc, it will ask for a password + verification. This will be saved in a directory .vnc in the user's login directory.

Due to higher security settings in the 035 kernel, this package may not work for normal users with the upcoming 035 version.

The X11 window manager in the package is based on <a href='http://www.nickgravgaard.com/windowlab/' target='_blank'>windowlab</a>, and the package also contains some X11 applications like xterm, xeyes, xv (image viewer), and vim.

A VNC viewer can be downloaded f.i. from <a href='http://www.tightvnc.com/download.html' target='_blank'>http://www.tightvnc.com/download.html</a>

Enjoy!
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby dingetje » Sun Oct 23, 2005 2:56 pm

A word of warning: X11 is quite memory hungry, so please don't install this package when you have less than 32Mb of memory. It may run with as low as 16Mb, but I haven't tested that.
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby PHBC50 » Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:04 am

Hello
I've just tried the package, a window manager on FREESCO that's FANTASTIC !
Just to let you know that I have connected to FREESCO 0.3.5 without problems (with a 032 kernel though), it works great !
Makes me dream about the possibilities .... :) :) :)
regards,
phbc50
The only way of discovering the limits of the possible is to venture a little way past them into the impossible. (Arthur C Clarke)
User avatar
PHBC50
Junior Advanced Member
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2002 8:59 pm
Location: France

Postby dingetje » Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:41 am

For other desktop background images, check out <a href='http://dingetje.homeip.net/index.php?ind=news&op=news_show_single&ide=3' target='_blank'>this</a> News announcement on my site.
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby dingetje » Mon Oct 24, 2005 10:01 am

Lightning has found a small flaw in the vncserver script, so I will correct that ASAP.


Also please read next addition:
For older 03x FREESCO versions the default login directory for the 'root' account is '/' which lives in ram disk. It is therefore advised to change the default login for the root user to a directory on the harddisk as is the case in FREESCO 034 (or was it 033) and newer.
If you don't, the .vnc directory of the root user will be erased @ each reboot.

If your root account line in /etc/passwd looks like this:
root:encrypted_password:0:0:root:/:/bin/sh


change it into:
root:encrypted_password:0:0:root:/home/root:/bin/sh


Also type the next commands:

Code: Select all
cp /etc/passwd /boot/etc
mkdir /home/root
chown root.root /home/root


Be very very carefull to use an editor that does not screw up your passwd file with CR codes, as this may leave you with a box where you can no longer login.
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby dingetje » Tue Oct 25, 2005 1:48 am

The package requires my utils_1.1_dingetje package, see this <a href='http://forums.freesco.org/support/index.php?showtopic=12984' target='_blank'>thread</a> (thanks to TalkingToes for reporting).
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby El Machete » Thu Oct 27, 2005 11:01 pm

Never mind. I should read the instructions properly. So, if you don't run rc_vncsetup this is what you get:


Sorry guys, mine does not work

Code: Select all
[@Freesco] rc_vncserver start

[@Freesco] vncserver 0
New X desktop is started on blossom.powerpuff:0 with pid 26507
Used log file is: //.vnc/blossom.powerpuff:0.log
[@Freesco] ps -eaf | grep vnc
  26507  S      26505   ttyp2   Xvnc    Xvnc:0-desktopX-localhost-auth//.Xauthority-geometry1024x768-depth24-rfbwait120000-rfbauth//.vnc/pass......
  26584  S      26294   ttyp2   grep    sh/bin/grepvnc
  26593  S      26584           sed     sed-n/vnc/P
[@Freesco] nmap localhost

Starting nmap V. 3.00 ( www.insecure.org/nmap/ )
Interesting ports on localhost (127.0.0.1):
(The 1591 ports scanned but not shown below are in state: closed)
Port       State       Service


5900/tcp   open        vnc
6000/tcp   open        X11


Nmap run completed -- 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 13 seconds




I used two different vnc clients (Ultra and Tight VNC). Same results with both:
Unable to connect to Server
I used also IP address:0

Here is the log from the .vnc directory

Code: Select all

27/10/05 22:10:12 Xvnc version 3.3.tight1.2.9
27/10/05 22:10:12 Copyright (C) 1999 AT&T Laboratories Cambridge.
27/10/05 22:10:12 Copyright (C) 2000-2002 Constantin Kaplinsky.
27/10/05 22:10:12 All Rights Reserved.
27/10/05 22:10:12 See http://www.uk.research.att.com/vnc for information on VNC
27/10/05 22:10:12 See http://www.tightvnc.com for TightVNC-specific information
27/10/05 22:10:12 Desktop name 'X' (blossom.powerpuff:stat)
27/10/05 22:10:12 Protocol version supported 3.3
27/10/05 22:10:12 Listening for VNC connections on TCP port 5900
windowlab: can't open display! check your DISPLAY variable.
Warning: This program is an suid-root program or is being run by the root user.
The full text of the error or warning message cannot be safely formatted
in this environment. You may get a more descriptive message by running the
program as a non-root user or by removing the suid bit on the executable.
xterm Xt error: Can't open display: %s
xv: Can't open display
El Machete Main Site<br><a href='http://elmachete.dyndns.org' target='_blank'>http://elmachete.dyndns.org</a><br><br><b><i>Information wants to be free. Use open source</b></i><br><br>Other sites by El Machete:<br><br><a href='http://laoficina.mine.nu/' target='_blank'>El Machete Group Office</a><br>
User avatar
El Machete
Senior Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2002 3:05 am
Location: Alberta Canada

Postby Lightning » Fri Oct 28, 2005 12:08 pm

If you are not running this package through a SSH tunnel then you must configure it with

localhostOnly=0

So I suggest running

rc_vncserver setup

This is also NOT a support section and my response in this section is because this could be a very common problem.
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 12080
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby spaceman » Sun Nov 20, 2005 9:58 pm

OMG ! X for freesco ?
a window manager, i asume it run NOT under putty ? :)
<img src='http://home.wanadoo.nl/tmuller/picies/on.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image' /><br>we just love it.
User avatar
spaceman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 3:45 pm
Location: Netherlands, some where in the bush bush :)

Postby dingetje » Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:01 am

Your assumption is correct. This package runs as a X-server on your FREESCO and on the other end it behaves like a VNC server. You need a VNC viewer to connect to it.
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby fratzicu » Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:52 am

Hi, I'm a newbie, and I use freesco 0.34. It's very nice to have this possibility of x server on freesco. How many steps until the possibility of watching movies on freesco? Well, on a system with 800Mhz cpu and...say...384 mb ram and 16 mb video card. I presume is possible. i myself would contribute to do some testing and compiling, but it seems to me it requires some advanced knowledge. Recently I tested a linux version with x server and i tried to install a movie player. When i tried to compile the source it said it didn't support the compiler installed. I also couldn't install or downgrade the compiler supported. So it gave me a headache.
fratzicu
 

Postby standalone » Wed Mar 22, 2006 11:29 am

Hi, I would also like to ask if it's standalone, meaning it runs on freesco in graphical mode? or we can only see it connecting through a vnc viewer? is it a dumb question?
standalone
 

Postby Lightning » Wed Mar 22, 2006 11:13 pm

it runs on freesco in graphical mode? or we can only see it connecting through a vnc viewer? is it a dumb question?
Not a dumb question, but it can ONLY be seen through a remote VNC viewer.

On a secondary note, X is not impossible on FREESCO. It has just never been made into a package for multiple good reasons. But in general if anyone REALLY wanted it they could just strip all of the X components directly from Zipslack or Slackware 3.9 and put them in FREESCO and as long as your video card is at least ten years old it will probably run just fine..
If you are afraid that you might make a mistake. The chances are high that you will never learn anything.
User avatar
Lightning
FREESCO GOD !!
 
Posts: 12080
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 6:50 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby dingetje » Thu Mar 23, 2006 4:21 am

I've managed to install <a href='http://www.tucows.com/preview/10014' target='_blank'>TinyX</a> without too much trouble on a VMWare FREESCO box, but as expected X is quite a heavy burden, specially for the low end PC's FREESCO is more than happy to work with.

On the XFree (http://xfree.org) site you can still download X binaries for a libc.so.5 linux. It's also a good source of documentation howto configure X.
GreetZ
http://dingetje.hopto.org

"Software is like sex: it's better when it's free." - LINUS TORVALDS
User avatar
dingetje
FREESCO GURU !!
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 12:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands


Return to 3rd Party Package Release Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron